Kevin Menezes

Loved and Saved by God alone to Love and Serve God alone.

Love & Free Will

Leave a comment

God has given every man free will to determine his destiny. This free will gives man the right to even reject the very God that created him and gave him this right. God, being the gentleman He is, will never infringe on a man’s right to choose what he wants to believe. However, this free will also comes with a rider. If you make choices of your own accord, then you alone are liable for all the consequences that arise thereof.

So, for example, if you choose to smoke like a chimp, drink like an elephant and live recklessly, you cannot blame God or anybody else when your health takes a turn for the worse. Your health is your responsibility.

If you borrow money to buy things you don’t need and never save for a rainy day, you should not blame God if you end up bankrupt and broke. Your lifestyle is your responsibility.

Similarly, if you spend all your time away from home, ignoring your wife and kids, you should not blame God or anybody else if your marriage ends up in the alley. It is your responsibility to make your marriage work.

Back in the day, I was a rebel. I used to take credit for all the good in my life and blame God for all the bad. I made some extremely poor choices in my life—we all do—and I paid dearly for them. When I look back now, I see clearly that through all the adversities and strife, God has always been (and still is) my greatest ally. Even when I was being a total jerk, telling God I’d be better off if He would just f#@}!#g leave me alone, He did not abandon me… coz a true parent never abandons a child. I was playing with fire and living on the edge. And all the while, God was right there with His hand gently behind my back to break my fall and ensure I wouldn’t land too hard.

God’s like that.

I can imagine God and His angels looking down on me from heaven and shaking their heads.

“That kid is going to get himself killed,” God says, “We better do something quickly.”

“Well, Sir, we can’t. Remember that free will contract you signed?” an angel replies.

“Oh! Yeah! I should have never done that,” God says.

“Well, you did leave a clause there saying ‘if a man calls out to You for help, we can jump right in.’”

“Yes! We can. Jump in right now and save him,” God orders.

“Um, there is just one small technical problem, Sir… he is not calling out for help—none of them are. They think You don’t exist,” the angel says.

“What?! Well, I don’t care what they think. I am not going to let them die on my watch. Save that kid anyways. I want him with me for eternity,” God commands.

And just like that, I got saved. Love and Mercy prevailed over the law.

When you are on God’s heart, He will send His angels to watch over you night and day. And if you ever run into trouble, He will order His angels to jump right in and rescue you, even if you don’t call out for help.

God’s love us unconditionally. And that’s how He expects us to love each other too.


Unconditional Love: God likes that… coz God’s like that.

Author: kevin menezes

Kevin Menezes is an author, editor and publisher of inspirational books.

Leave a Reply

