Kevin Menezes

Loved and Saved by God alone to Love and Serve God alone.

Give God A Chance

Leave a comment

Looking UpDoes God really exist? After wrestling with this question for as long as I can remember, I finally chose to believe He did not. My reasoning was based primarily on the fact that I could neither see God nor feel Him.

In retrospect, my choice was a product of my narrow-minded selfishness. With God out of the way, I would neither have to deal with the guilt of sin nor its consequences—or so I thought. It was all very convenient.

I had it all figured out. I believed we were just intelligent animals descended from the apes. In short, I believed everything the science books, magazines, and the “experts” said. These are the best ways to give your career a boost; this is the best way to satisfy your spouse; this is what you should do; this is how you should do it.

Well, guess what I figured out eventually? The magazines and newspapers tell you nothing but a load of crap. It is written: Human knowledge is foolishness to God. And it really is. We think we are smart, but we are not—in fact, without God, we are nothing. I learnt this the hard way.

Today, after paying a heavy price for believing everything these “experts” said and allowing myself to be deceived, I finally stand corrected.

Maybe you are looking for answers too, but don’t know whom to turn to. I have a suggestion: Give God a chance.

Don’t know where to find Him? No problem.

The easiest way to find God is to get yourself to church – and not a dead one. (There are plenty of those too.)

Find yourself one that is centered on the Word of God, on Jesus and His life-giving Spirit. You’ll know you’ve found the right one when you see miracles all around you. When you see people being healed, delivered and blessed, when you see the “lame” walking and the “blind” seeing, give yourself a pat on the back and say, “I am in the right place.”

Just one suggestion: Don’t go looking for the most glamorous church in town. God is usually absent where vanity is present. Instead, look for a simple one. I guarantee that if you really look, you will eventually find a God-centered church… possibly in your own neighborhood. And when you do, you will find that God is very actively and visibly working in the lives of His people even to this day.

Go and see for yourself. You have nothing to lose. At least once in your lifetime, give yourself the opportunity to see the bigger picture. Do it for yourself! It might just prove to be the best thing you’ve ever done.

Author: kevin menezes

Kevin Menezes is an author, editor and publisher of inspirational books.

Leave a Reply

