Kevin Menezes

Loved and Saved by God alone to Love and Serve God alone.

Happy Birthday, Son

Leave a comment

Happy Birthday MosheIt’s 1:00 am. You are fast asleep in your bed. The night light caresses your sweet little face and I watch you and wonder: “What did I do to deserve you?”

Three years have gone by since I held you in my arms for the first time, but it seems like just yesterday. You’ve grown so fast…and so beautifully. Just yesterday, you were a baby; today, you are a child. And a new baby sleeps in the cradle in which you once lay.

Oh, how I miss you even as I hold you. My little baby, you are growing so fast. Soon, you will be a man and a sweet little girl will become the epicenter of your world, taking the place of your father. But for now, you are just a little child. For now, we have each other. For now, I just want to hold you close, breathe in the scent of you, and feel your heart beating close to mine.

Earlier today, you jumped with delight when I returned from work. You waited the entire day for this moment. You opened the door for me and gave me a hug. Then, you held on to me…tightly.

Oh! Your sweet innocence, your tender love…you do something to my heart every time your tiny hands caress my face and you whisper, “Dada, please don’t leave me and go to office again.”

It amazes me that a heart so small can contain a love so great.

I love you, Moshe.

I know you can’t read yet, but I want to tell you this: “I am in awe of you.”

You are just a little kid, but you show me everyday how to be a man – how to love unconditionally, trust willingly, and be happy no matter what. There is so much I have learned from you these past few years…so much I can still learn just watching you. When I see you, I understand more clearly why Jesus said only the child-like can enter the kingdom of heaven.

Yes! Anybody can be a father, but it takes a special person to be a dad. And I want to be a “real dad” to you. Not just someone you look up to, but someone who meets you at your level. I want to be someone you can play in the mud and roll in the grass with. Heck, we’ll watch the same movie a 100 times if you want to… simply because we can. And when you grow up, we’ll talk about girls and bikes and fast cars and cool gadgets and girls…coz,  you know, that’s what dads are for.

I love you, man. I want to be your dad…and I want to be your friend. But mostly, I just want to be with you.

Thank you for being my son, my very own.

And Happy Birthday.

This is my prayer for you today:

“May the LORD bless you and take care of you. May the LORD be kind and gracious to you. May the LORD look on you with favor and give you peace.”

Amen.

Author: kevin menezes

Kevin Menezes is an author, editor and publisher of inspirational books.

Leave a Reply

